Ateneo Art Gallery announces the list of finalists for the Ateneo Art Awards 2021

MANILA, Philippines – The Ateneo Art Gallery (AAG) presents its shortlisted artists and writers for the 17th season of the Ateneo Art Awards. The program covers a period of two years and includes more than 140 nominations from different museums, galleries, artists and art educators received by AAG for the Fernando Zóbel Prizes for Visual Art (FZA) category. This award recognizes young Filipino visual artists under the age of 36 whose works have been exhibited over a period of two years, between May 2, 2019 and May 1, 2021. Many nominated exhibitions have taken place at one time. where local galleries have struggled to reopen during the height of the pandemic. Some of them are recognized in this year’s awards.

In alphabetical order, the 12 artists and exhibitions shortlisted for the Ateneo Art Awards 2021 – Fernando Zóbel Prize for the Visual Arts are:

Brisa Amir, “Untitled Covers” (October 2019, Artinformal Makati)

Renz Baluyot, “Empire” (October 2020, West Gallery)

Nice Buenaventura, “Fools will copy but copies will not deceive” (June 2019, Artinformal Makati)

Mars Bugaoan, “Appear Disappear ½ ¼” (April 2020, Galerie Kapitana, Bacolod)

Doktor Karayom, “Patingin” (May 2019, Galerie Blanc)

Celine Lee, “The length and breadth of the depth” (November 2020, Underground Makati)

Christine Lopez, “Portraits (Proxies)” (March 2021, The Drawing Room, Makati)

Henrielle Baltazar Pagkaliwangan, “On This Site Will Rise” (Part of the group exhibition “Fathom: The Monumental Art Series”, October 2019, Orange Project, Bacolod)

Ioannis Sicuya, “Niche” (November 2019, The Boston Gallery)

Jel Suarez, “Little bones, holding a mountain” (October 2020, West Gallery)

Jo Tanierla, “Pagburo in Pag-alsa: natural representations and illustrated prophecies (Gelacio, 1910)” (October 2020, UP Jorge B Vargas Museum)

Miguel Lorenzo Uy, “I am what I am” (March 2021, Underground Makati)

Among the shortlist, the Ateneo Art Awards-Fernando Zóbel Prize for Visual Arts are awarded to three artists by a jury. This year’s panel consists of Katya Guerrero, visual artist, archivist and co-founder of Luzviminda PH; Maya Muñoz, visual artist and winner of the Ateneo Art Awards 2006 – Fernando Zóbel Prize for visual arts; Lisa Ito-Tapang, independent curator and professor of art theory and criticism at the UP College of Fine Arts; Pete Jimenez, visual artist, sculptor and former CEO of Optima Digital; Marcel Antonio, painter; Philippe Pirotte, curator, art historian, deputy senior curator at UC Berkeley Art Museum and former dean of the Städelschule in Frankfurt am Main, Germany; And mom. Victoria Herrera, Director and Chief Curator of the Ateneo Art Gallery.

In addition to the three winners, one artist among the 12 shortlisted will also be the recipient of the Ateneo Art Awards-Embassy of Italy purchase price. Launched in 2018, the award is a partnership between AAG and the Italian Embassy that aims to help the Embassy compile a collection of contemporary Filipino art while providing a new award to further promote contemporary Filipino artists.

The Ateneo Art Awards Purita Kalaw-Ledesma Prizes in Art Criticism (PKL), for its part, continues its mission to reach a wider audience. In response to the various nominations received for the AAG x KLFI Essay Writing Award in 2020, AAG and the Kalaw-Ledesma Foundation Inc. (KLFI) have introduced a new theme, new category and new publishing partner to encourage more writers to participate.

With the theme “Navigating the Crisis: The Arts and Our Future,” the PKL Awards invite essays that reflect on the pandemic and its effects on various aspects of life, including the arts and culture. Writers can submit entries for the English or Filipino categories. A maximum of six writers will be shortlisted for each category and winners will have the opportunity to contribute to The Philippine STAR, ArtAsiaPacific and new publishing partner, the Katipunan Journal.

In alphabetical order, the shortlisted authors for the Ateneo Art Awards 2021-Purita Kalaw-Ledesma Prize in Art Criticism are:

English Category:

Allyn canja – “Internet Knows No Region: How artists from the Western Visayas broke barriers during a global pandemic”

Kiko del Rosario – “Piercing loss, desire to stream”

Elizabeth Ruth Deyro – “The social responsibility of the artist in times of crisis: on” I love art fairs and art fairs like me “by Leslie de Chavez”

Carla T. Gamalinda – “Art and the inevitable crisis of screens”

Alee Garibay – “Birth of an alternative culture in times of crisis”

Portia Placino – “Continue on the mountainside”

Filipino Category:

Jaffy V. Fajardo – “Nandiyan lang kultura at mga sining”

Jord Earving Gadingan – “Habang Wala Pang Matino”

Mikka Ann Cabangon – “Ang Hikayat sa Pag-aaral ng Sining-bayan”

The PKL shortlist was selected by the following jurors: Millet Mananquil, editor-in-chief of The Philippine STAR; Remmon Barbaza, Ph.D., associate professor, Department of Philosophy at Ateneo de Manila University; HG Masters, Deputy Editor and Deputy Editor of ArtAsiaPacific; Padmapani Perez, anthropologist, writer and owner of Mt. Cloud bookstore in Baguio; Judy Freya Sibayan, visual artist, curator, founding editor and editor of the Ctrl + P Journal of Contemporary Art; Alvin Yapan, Ph.D., Editor-in-Chief of Katipunan: Journal ng Mga Pag-aaral sa Wika, Panitikan, Sining at Kulturang Pilipino and Associate Professor, Kagawaran ng Filipino at Ateneo of Manila University; And mom. Victoria Herrera, Director and Chief Curator of the Ateneo Art Gallery.

Two winners will be selected in the English category. The winner of the Purita Kalaw-Ledesma Award for The Philippine STAR will receive a regular column under “Platforms” in the Arts and Culture section of the newspaper, which will be published monthly with a total of 12 articles for one year. The winner of the Purita Kalaw-Ledesma Prize for ArtAsiaPacific will contribute to this bimonthly publication, with a total of six papers for one year.

A selected winner in the Filipino category will receive the Purita Kalaw-Ledesma Prize for the Katipunan Journal and contribute to this biannual research publication, with a total of two articles per year. Additionally, the winning writer in the Filipino category will have his essay published in The Philippine STAR in August 2021.

The Ateneo Art Awards also expand its network through partnerships with artist communities outside of Manila. The three FZA category winners will be eligible for local residency scholarships funded by AAG and its new partner institutions: No Space Residency managed by Nona Garcia and Kawayan de Guia in Baguio; Project Space Pilipinas by Leslie de Chavez in Lucban, Quezon; Casa San Miguel run by Alfonso “Coke” Bolipata in Zambales; and A-Bungalow Residency managed by Adrian “Adjie” Lizares in Silay.

In addition to the possibility of having their written work published, one of the winners of the PKL category will also be selected and will be offered a one-month writer’s residency at Orange Project in Bacolod. This is the first time that the AAG and the KLFI have awarded a residency grant to a writer since the launch of the PKL prize in 2014. This residency will give the winning writer the opportunity to immerse himself and interact with the local artistic communities of the Visayas. .

The Ateneo Art Gallery will announce the winners on September 15 via livestream. Instead of a physical exhibit, AAG will post a series of videos about the shortlisted exhibits and essays after online award.

The Ateneo Art Awards 2021 are co-presented by the Ateneo Art Gallery and the Kalaw-Ledesma Foundation Inc., in partnership with the Embassy of Italy, The Philippine STAR, ArtAsiaPacific magazine and the Katipunan Journal.

* * *

For more information, contact Monique Hilario, Marketing and Communications Manager, at mhilario @ / aag @

Source link

Comments are closed.