National Gallery of Indigenous Art Reference Group Announcement

Two leading experts in art and culture will lead the National Gallery of Indigenous Art Reference Group as it begins a new two-year term.

Franchesca Cubillo and Dr. Gerard Vaughan will continue as co-chairs from the previous term, alongside nine new appointees and one reappointed member.

Reference Group members bring broad, high-level expertise in contemporary and traditional Indigenous art in all media, including digital, museum and gallery management, senior curator experience, and experience in the development of fundraising strategies.

Members will provide advice and recommendations to the Government of the Northwest Territories on the development and establishment of the National Gallery of Aboriginal Art, including the overall concept of the Gallery and fundraising and governance approaches .

The gallery, which will be based in Alice Springs – the geographical and artistic heart of Australia, will provide a centerpiece for Aboriginal art, showcasing the importance of Aboriginal culture to the nation and the world.

In keeping with the National Gallery of Aboriginal Art’s commitment to First Peoples principles, 10 of the 12 nominees are Aboriginal.

The Creative Industry Leaders Group comprises three Central Australian Territorians, with other members representing wider regional and national interests and expertise.

The members are:

Franchesca Cubillo (co-chair); Dr. Gerard Vaughan (co-chair); Patricia Adjei; Brook Andrew; Sharon Boucher; Kelly Cole; Chad Creighton; Frank Howarth; Dr. Greg Lehman; Vicky Lindner; Matthew Palmer; and Joann Russo.

The Reference Group is in Alice Springs today for its first meeting.

/Public release. This material from the original organization/authors may be ad hoc in nature, edited for clarity, style and length. The views and opinions expressed are those of the author or authors.View Full here.

Comments are closed.