The curtain falls on the 24th national art exhibition

Guests, organizers and winners pose for a photo during the closing ceremony of the 24th National Art Exhibition held on Saturday at the auditorium of the National Art Gallery of Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy. – Press release

The Bangladesh Shilpakala Academy presented the prizes to the winners of the 24th National Art Exhibition in a program held on Saturday at the auditorium of the National Art Gallery.

This year, 786 artists submitted more than 1,000 works to the event. The biennial art exhibition showcased 347 works of art by 323 artists from across the country.

The works have been exhibited at the National Art Gallery. Additionally, the BSA posted the artwork online amid the government-imposed lockdown.

The exhibition featured 157 paintings, 47 sculptures, 53 prints, 17 photographs, 18 installations, 10 oriental works of art, 20 handicrafts, seven works on new media, five graphic works and seven ceramic pieces.

In addition, the exhibition presented six performance art shows for the first time.

The winning works were selected by artists Abdul Mannan, Abul Barq Alv, Farida Zaman, Mostafa Sharif Anwar, Syeda Mahbuba Karim and Mustafa Zaman.

Eleven artists received the best prizes in eleven categories. Each winner received a crest, a certificate and 1,000,000 Tk.

The best prizes were awarded to Md Imtiaz Islam for installation art, Ruhul Karim Rumi for painting, Anisuzzaman for printing, Kanak Kumar Pathak for sculpture, Sushant Kumar Adhikary for oriental art, Samia Afrin for crafts, Md Rabiul Islam for pottery art, Al Manzur Elahi for graphics, Md Al Yasa Irfan Uddin for photography, Ifat Rezwana Ria for performance and Zihan Karim for new media.

Five honorary prizes were awarded in five categories. Each winner received a crest, a certificate and 25,000 Tk.

Honorary prizes were awarded to Abu Tarek Md Kadimul Islam Jadu and Kazi Sayed Ahmed for painting, Aminul Islam Ashique and Olok Rajbongshi for sculpture and Rafiqul Islam for printing.

In addition, five awards named after esteemed personalities and organizations were presented at the event.

Abhijit Chowdhury and Rasel Kanti Das won Bengal Foundation and Kalidas Karmakar Award for painting respectively, Md Tanvir Ahmed Joy won Language Martyr Gaziul Haque award for sculpture, Pramathesh Das Pulak won Shahjalal Islami Bank Foundation award for installation art and Kamruzzaman won the Kazi Anwar Hossain Prize for print.

In addition, Shoma Shurovi Jannat received the best award in all mediums titled 22nd Young Artist Fine Arts Award 2020 for his work Adikatha.

Comments are closed.